Is it possible to dye or stain corian countertops?

weeznutsJuly 11, 2012

The house I just bought has corian countertops that are in great shape and include an integrated sink with dish drainer, all of which I love. What I don't love is the color of the corian: salt and pepper. I was wondering if I could dye or stain the corian black. I see a lot of information on the web about getting stains -out- of corian, which leads me to believe that corian stains pretty easily. Am I nuts? Any ideas on how I would do that?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
palimpsest

It isn't. The stains people are talking about getting out are fairly light residual stains.

Bookmark   July 11, 2012 at 10:07AM
Circus Peanut

Corian is made of a resin plastic, isn't it? Not sure how dyable such a beast is.

They do market a paint specifically for recoloring Corian, check it out - I have no knowledge of this product so this is just FYI. In general I don't think painting countertops is ever really a big success (maybe someone here can prove me wrong?), but if you're trying to buy some time while you save up for something else it might be the ticket:

Refinishing Corian with New Colors

Bookmark   July 11, 2012 at 10:42AM
GreenDesigns

Even if you managed to change the color, it would be very temporary. When you moved a coffee cup across the counter, it would scratch it white and show the undersurface through. That's what black Corian does anyway, when you scratch it. And it DOES scratch. It's a nice surface if you like the light colors, but the dark colors are less successful.

The salt and pepper color may not be much to your liking, but it will wear well and can go with a wide variety of cabinet colors and styles. Perhaps you may just need to change out a few things to make it work better until you can manage a kitchen redo.

Bookmark   July 11, 2012 at 11:05AM
weeznuts