Granite seam problem

janeflahertyMay 29, 2013

Any opinions about this seam? I don't understand why they did the short angle which cause a big chip that they glued back in.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
akl_vdb

I'm not an expert by any means, just a picky home owner, and that doesn't look right. I think I saw your post in another thread. I'd be ticked if that was mine.

Bookmark   May 29, 2013 at 9:35PM
janeflaherty

Yeah, I'm not happy about it. Thanks. I'm new to this forum and am a posting maniac right now to be sure it gets seen:)

Bookmark   May 29, 2013 at 9:53PM
snookums2

That's terrible. I hope you have not paid in full yet. If so, I hope it was by credit card.

Unacceptable. Have you spoken with them yet?

Bookmark   May 29, 2013 at 10:05PM
MikeJrNY

I agree - that seam is terrible and not acceptable. I've seen many finished counter-tops that appears to be a mistake. Contact your granite fabricator and have them replace it.

Bookmark   May 30, 2013 at 12:16AM
janeflaherty

Thanks. I'm glad others see the same thing. The fabricator rep and I are meeting next week.

Bookmark   May 30, 2013 at 1:57AM
meyersdvm

I'm not an expert by any means, but my fabricator called that a Euro seam. That is the kind that is slated to go in my granite. He explained they use a vacuum process to make the seam as invisible as possible. There must be a good reason they use it, but it does not look like yours as well executed. I would certainly not be pleased with that, but hopefully they can fix it on site to meet your expectations.

Bookmark   May 30, 2013 at 6:51AM
PRO
Sophie Wheeler

They just need to color match the epoxy better. The seam itself isn't an issue. It does't even look like they have any epoxy in the seam.

Bookmark   May 30, 2013 at 7:25AM
janeflaherty

Very helpful comments. Thank you. The fabricator is a Sacramento, CA, Home Depot contractor, and they were very responsive when they saw the picture. I will post after the inspection next week.