ac-dc transformer question

blaster1492May 4, 2014

Hi all,
Electrical novice here. Trying to figure out my undercabinet lighting and having a technical issue...hoping someone might be able to help!
My wife and I want led rope lights (http://www.amazon.com/LEDwholesalers-Flexible-300xSMD2835-Adhesive-2026WW-31K/dp/B002QQ48TK/ref=cm_cd_ql_qh_dp_t) to be run under the cabinets and wired directly to a dimmer switch. However, this is DC power, so usually it is run through an AC-DC transformer and then plugged into a normal wall switch. We don't want a wire and a plug to be there all the time. To be honest I didn't even think this would be an issue since I would think most people want their undercabinet lights on a switch.

Does anyone have any solutions so I can direct-wire these types of lights to a wall dimmer switch? Is there some other type of transformer that converts DC to AC without necessitating a plug?

Thanks so much for your help!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Ron Natalie

Yes, there are hardwired transformers available. Just google "hardwired lighting transformers"

Bookmark   May 5, 2014 at 3:02AM
geoffrey_b

Google WAC lighting.transformer.

Bookmark   May 5, 2014 at 11:57AM
cuba_pete