Stepping stone question

mad_about_mickeySeptember 28, 2009

I am fairly new to this and have a question.

If I have broken a plate and want to use the pieces to cover a premade concrete or brick stepping stone: do i need to use thinset or can I use GE II and then grout it?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
vee78910

Hi Mad, I just finished a bunch of stepping stones, the premade concrete ones. I used a good bed of thinset on the stone then smooshed in jewelry, broken china and other found things. They came out great, I think. This makes the stone really heavy though. Enjoy doing them and post pics when done. Cheers, Vee

Bookmark   September 28, 2009 at 5:16PM
katishooked

Hi Mad, all my stepping stones were made with GEII and then grouted. They are doing fine. Been outside for over a year.

Kat

Bookmark   September 28, 2009 at 6:07PM
texaswild

Hey, MAD: I prefer thinset for all outside projects. One of these days I'm gonna try the push and sqush method - saves grouting.

Bookmark   September 29, 2009 at 10:18AM
texasfern

Can't wait to see them!

Bookmark   September 29, 2009 at 10:25AM
mad_about_mickey