Best replacement windows in MN??

minnesota4x4May 3, 2014

We are needing to replace all 13 windows in our 15 year old home and would appreciate any help or advise.

I have been researching for over 6 months what manufactures are the best and which ones to steer clear of. I have also gotten a bid from Soft-lite and liked the windows very much but I can not pay $18,000 for 13 windows. That price seems crazy. The quote was for the Soft-lite Imperial LT dual pane window.

So now we would like to have a contractor we know and trust do the installation. But here in Minnesota it seems like we are limited on the windows that are available. I have read a lot of the feedback on the good vinyl or fiberglass window manufactures but many of them I can't find a place to purchase here in MN.

Ultimately we are looking for dual pane, vinyl or fiberglass windows with the lowest U-factor. Does anyone have any advice on what are our best options for windows here in Minnesota? Or where my contractor could get good windows?

Thank you all for you help and time!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
eastbay10

Marvin Integrity is manufactured next door in North Dakota and owned by a Minnesota company. They have tri-pane offerings for the low U factor that you are looking for. Andersen is also a Minnesota company with a vinyl line manufactured in Texas as well as the 100 Series Fibrex (Vinyl and Wood) and the Fiberglass A Series. There are quality Canadian fiberglass companies to the north of you so you don't have a shortage of local options. Visit showrooms and find one that you like and can afford. Take your time and you won't be sorry. Don't let anyone hurry your decision.

Bookmark   May 3, 2014 at 4:01PM
bpchiil

$1300/window seems quite high. Yes SoftLite is a good window, but not that at that price -IMO.

Sunrise windows are available in Minnesota - another top tier manufacturer of vinyl but I believe they only sell to select contractors / dealers.