Flowers for engagement party

emersonsfMarch 22, 2006

My daughter is getting married and is having an engagement party given by her fiance's parents. My wife and I are not able to go. her mother and I are divorced and she has a stepfather.

Since we cannot go to the engagement party ( we have not met her future in-laws) I suggested that maybe we should send flowers with a nice note. My wife says that it is the grooms parents who have the party and they will probably have flowers already picked out etc. and that we should not send them. What is proper or rather the right thing to do.

Thanks

JP

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
socks

I'm no expert, but how could sending flowers be wrong? Your daughter would probably be pleased that you were thinking of her at that special event.

Bookmark   March 22, 2006 at 4:31PM
sweet_pea10

I agree; send the flowers to your daughter, not to the in-laws, though you may need to send them to the in-law's home.

Bookmark   March 23, 2006 at 8:20PM
talley_sue_nyc

are you unable to be there bcs of schedule, or bcs of conflics? I'm hoping it's schedule.

I vote for asking your DD for the future in-law's phone number, and calling the hostess. Tell her you're unable to be there, wish you could, and wonder if perhaps you could show your goodwill by sending flowers along...

Or, write a note to your daughter (or to the entire company), and send it to them, asking them to read it aloud on your behalf, in order to convey your good wishes to all there. (flummox them all by adding a nice sentence of praise for your DD's mother)

Or, if you've been invited and declined already, just use the address from the invite to send flowers to the future in-laws as a goodwill gesture.