LOOKING for: marshmallows

PattiG(rose)November 4, 2001

i im a vegitarian and I'm wondering if theres any way I could make marshmallows without using gelatine!!?? I haven't had them for years and they are the one thing i miss!!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
merstar_earthlink_net

Hello,
Agar-agar, a sea vegetable, is used as a substitute for gelatine. You can find it in most health food stores.

    Bookmark   November 4, 2001 at 4:39PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Flash

Hi, Rose.
I don't have a recipe for marshmallows, but have you considered trying marshmallow fluff from a jar to satiate your craving? The brand that I buy contains corn syrup, sugar, dried egg white & vanillin.

I found a recipe on vegesource.com from someone named Deborah for "Rice Krispy Treats" . . . made with marshmallow fluff instead of the gelatin marshmallows. . . and they are DELICIOUS! I just made more a few days ago. YUM! If you're interested, let me know and I'll type it hear for everyone to see.

    Bookmark   November 14, 2001 at 8:17PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
paulmyoung

Hi Flash,

Even though the fluff doesn't contain gelatin, the egg whites come from an animal and render it unusable for vegans (strict vegetarians).

Paul

    Bookmark   November 18, 2001 at 12:32PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Grappler

Flash --
I would love to see the vegetarian version of Rice Crispy Treats. Thanks!

    Bookmark   March 19, 2002 at 12:31AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
toby_l

Make marshmellows? I believe there are "kosher" marshmellows. Try a kosher foods store or your local 7th Day Adventist store.

    Bookmark   April 30, 2002 at 4:20PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
ChristineNJ

I make the Rice Krispy Treats with Fluff. I don't really have a recipe but it is simple enough- I take a large container of fluff, throw maybe a half stick of butter (I am not vegan, only vegetarian) with it in a pot and slowly heat it up until it is melty. Then I stir in the Rice Krispies, I don't know the measurement for the Krispies- I just put them in until it looks right. Then I put the mixture into a buttered pan, and push down on them really hard with a spatula. You have to push down really good on them or they won't hold together well. Then I refrigerate for awhile.
Toby- All the kosher marshmallows I have seen are made with kosher gelatin which is not necessarily a vegetarian product. A long time ago I can remember buying vegetarian marshmallows but now I haven't seen them in years. Haven't tried making them myself, though.

    Bookmark   April 30, 2002 at 11:17PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
linda_intennessee

Marshmallows are incredibly cool -- not only do they taste good, but by lighting them you can create a great source of light in a dark campsite!

Technically, marshmallows are a confection -- a candy. They've been around in the form we know them since the mid-1800s.

They are called "marshmallows" because part of the early recipe called for sap from the root of the marshmallow plant.

According to Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, a marshmallow is:

1: a pink-flowered European perennial herb (Althaea officinalis) of the mallow family that is naturalized in the eastern U.S. and has a mucilaginous root sometimes used in confectionery and in medicine; 2: a confection made from the root of the marshmallow or from corn syrup, sugar, albumen, and gelatin beaten to a light spongy consistency
That word "mucilaginous" means "jelly-like." Later, the root was replaced by gelatin, and that is how modern marshmallows are made.
There is a very cool cookbook called Better than Store Bought that is now out of print but still available in used book stores and libraries. It contains the following recipe for making your own marshmallows:

1/4 cup cornstarch
1/3 cup confectioners sugar
1 envelope unflavored gelatin
1/3 cup water
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup light corn syrup
Pinch of salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Sift the cornstarch and confectioners sugar into a bowl. Lightly grease an 8x8-inch square baking pan and sprinkle 1 tablespoon of the cornstarch-and-sugar mixture into it. Tilt the pan to coat the sides and the bottom. Leave any excess in the pan.
Sprinkle the gelatin into the water in a small saucepan and let soak for five minutes. Add the granulated sugar and stir over low heat until the gelatin and sugar dissolve.
In the large bowl of an electric mixer, combine the gelatin mixture, corn syrup, salt and vanilla and beat for 15 minutes on high speed, until peaks form.
Spread the fluffy mixture in the prepared pan and smooth the top. Leave for two hours or until set.
With a wet knife, cut the marshmallow mixture into quarters and loosen around the edges. Sprinkle the remaining cornstarch-and-sugar mixture on a baking sheet and invert the marshmallow blocks onto it. Cut each quarter into nine pieces and roll each one in the starch and sugar.
Place the marshmallows on a cake rack covered with paper towels and let them stand over night to dry the surface slightly. Store airtight; the marshmallows will keep for a month.

    Bookmark   May 2, 2002 at 11:04AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
toby_l

So I says, there's got to be a vegetarian marshmellow out there. So I call up my local 7th Day Adventist food store and they tell me they sell a "kosher" marshmellow made from Kolatin gelatin. So, it's made without beaf, right? Right, they say. So then I search on Kolitin on the web, and the d&%$ thing is beaf!!! The Adventists don't even know what the h$%@ they're selling! Sorry.

    Bookmark   May 2, 2002 at 4:16PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
    Bookmark   May 2, 2002 at 4:36PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
toby_l

BTW- The above recipe calls for Emes gelatin (vegan).

According to the Vegetarian Resource Group: "Emes was the only manufacturer of vegan marshmallows and they have discontinued producing them."

    Bookmark   May 2, 2002 at 4:43PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lakedallasmary

I would like the recipe to make the marchmellow confections out of the marsh mellow herb, and not nasty toxic corn syrup.

I can't find the recipe on the net, If anyone can find it, or has it in a old cookbeeok, please let me know.

    Bookmark   April 25, 2006 at 3:32PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lakedallasmary

Well I ran into a march mellow recipe. I dought it is the original one, but here it is.

MARSHMALLOW SWEETS
4 Tbsp. marshmallow roots
28 Tbsp. refined sugar
20 Tbsp. gum tragacanth or gum Arabic
2 cups water or orange flower water
1-2 egg whites, well beaten

Make up a tea of marshmallow roots by simmering them in a pint of water for twenty to thirty minutes. Add additional water if it simmers down. Strain out the roots. Heat the gum and marshmallow decoction (water) in a double boiler until they are dissolved together. Strain with pressure. Stir in the sugar as quickly as possible. When dissolved, add the well-beaten egg white's), stirring constantly, but take off the heat and continue to stir. Lay out on a flat surface. Let cool, and cut into smaller pieces.

Egg white substitute
egg white = dissolve 1 tbsp plain agar powder in 1 tbsp water. Whip, chill and whip again.

found on the web not tried it though.

Flax is also used instead of eggs. can't remember if the whole egg or just the white.

    Bookmark   April 25, 2006 at 4:00PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
asparaggus

http://veganstore.com

you can buy them here. Locally, i dont know. I live in Northwest Wisconsin, and it is pretty hard to convince stores around here to find something for you. Good luck

    Bookmark   May 20, 2006 at 8:36PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
sarah_schoenbrun_gmail_com

Sorry to say, Emes was never actually vegan. And "kosher" definitely does NOT equal vegetarian! However, there is a kosher gelatin which IS vegan, called Kojel. It can be found at any kosher grocery store, or online at www.pangeaveg.com. Supposedly it can substitute regular gelatin in a marshmallow recipe, but the directions on the box should be followed even if the recipe says otherwise.

    Bookmark   May 29, 2006 at 6:00PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lowspark

Kosher marshmallows are not vegetarian. But they are pareve. Pareve means they contains no meat or dairy products.

HOWEVER, in Jewish law, fish is not meat. Therefore, they use fish gelatin to make marshmallows. They're kosher, and meatless according to Jewish law. But if you consider fish to be meat, as I believe most vegetarians do, Kosher marshmallows won't work for you.

Here is a link that might be useful: Kosher marshmallows

    Bookmark   August 18, 2006 at 11:00AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
ragalekha

Just bought some really nice vegan marshmallows made by Sweet & Sara www.sweetandsara.com
Now I am going to look for recipes to make them myself...

    Bookmark   March 6, 2010 at 12:15PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
CrisR

I had never thought about marshmallows being made from animal products... Darn it!!!

I really don't see myself making my own vegetarian friendly marshmallows. I think I'll try the jarred ones that was suggested earlier.

I'm not sure what the link is for, but this is my work site.

Here is a link that might be useful: Palmdale Homes

    Bookmark   November 12, 2010 at 2:05PM
Sign Up to comment
More Discussions
RECIPE: Portabella Mushroom
Share you favorite recipe with these buggers. I would...
Sara
RECIPE: vegtable storage
In the summer time you can just go out to the garden...
ancient11
RECIPE: Looking for vegan breakfast ideas
I don't get hungry till I have been at work for an...
nancyjane_gardener
RECIPE: Recipe: Persimmon & Goat Cheese tart
I have no idea where I got this recipe from, and it...
jkom51
LOOKING for: Morningstar Farms
Hello fellow veggies; I was wondering what everyone...
michele in ATL
Sponsored Products
LBL Sophia Clear Glass Monopoint Pendant
Euro Style Lighting
Triumph 3 Ceiling Fan by Craftmade
$313.20 | Lumens
Twist Satin Nickel Decorative Holdback Twist Finial, Set of 2
$19.95 | Bellacor
White 300-TC Sheet Set
$39.99 | zulily
Lush Decor Venetian 4-piece Comforter Set
Overstock.com
Sonoma Paper White Dining Table
Overstock.com
Dexter Outdoor Wall Art
Grandin Road
Crystorama Legacy Chandelier - 23.5W in. English Bronze - 5196-EB-CL-MWP
$700.00 | Hayneedle
People viewed this after searching for:
© 2015 Houzz Inc. Houzz® The new way to design your home™