anyone been to Cario?

foggyjFebruary 27, 2006

Going to view the pyramids. Heard everyone has their hand out for tips. Can we use American dollars for this?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
sable_ca

American dollars, unlike Americans, are beloved anywhere. Be prepared to tip, and brace yourself for the children begging in the streets, even in the middle of the night. Cairo is a city of staggering poverty.

More tips: If you are female, or if there are females in your party - cover up. No shorts, sleeveless tops, see-through anything. Be very, very modest. A woman should wear a wedding ring, married or not. She should not go out in public unaccompanied. A male companion is best, preferably a husband or a guy who will pass as one. Unattached Western women are relentlessly hit on in the Muslim world, no matter what their age (I have a lot of experience with this, lol). It's funny at first, and then it's a royal PITA.

If you are going to the pyramids, take a camel ride. It's a great experience! Camels are very easy to ride, they sway gently to and fro, following the guide, and it's a fine view from way up there! You mount them when they are lying down and they gradually rock into a standing position.

If you have time, go with a companion to the Khan el Khalili and have tea at Fishawi's. It's a true Egyptian experience and they know how to treat tourists.

Be careful, be alert, and have fun! And report back to us!

Bookmark   February 28, 2006 at 2:09PM
foggyj

Thank you so much for the info. I was planning on trying to ride a camel. How often does one get that chance?!! I was just reading about how over-populated Cario has become.
We're doing the river tour to Luxor, etc.
Let you know how it goes.

Bookmark   March 1, 2006 at 12:10AM
foggyj