Faux Tile Painting on backsplash???

MaryAnn_ALJanuary 29, 2004

Anyone had any experience painting a faux "tile look" on a wall? I would like to paint the backsplash to look like rough slate tile. I'm also undecided on colors. My other walls will be pale yellow, countertop is cream and kitchen cabinets are med. oak. Any ideas? I plan on using plaid valances in windows with a warm red, yellow and green.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
skatiero

It's very, very easy. Get some very thin masking tape (it comes in all sorts of teeny-tiny sizes at a good art supply store) and tape off all your grout lines first. The basecoat color UNDER your masking tape will be the grout color, so if you want that to be different than wahatever it is now, paint and let the paint cure before doing the rest. Then tape it off, and paint or sponge away. If you are a complete novice, then the easiest of many ways to make the tiles themselves is probably sponging. One way is to have a few paint trays (say, three or four) with a different color in each. Then start sponging and experimenting till you get the look you want. Pell of the masking and it's beautiful! After it cures, you can varnish or seal it so it's very scrubbable! I have done lots of backsplashes-- they are wonderful and easy! Colorwise, you can find a sample of slate and pull colors from the other things in your room and subtly work them in! Slate has a ton of variety and is extremely forgiving to paint!

Bookmark   February 3, 2004 at 9:44PM
MaryAnn_AL

Thanks for responding skatiero. We're still peeling the wallpaper off. I have picked out some colors although I'm afraid they may be too dark. But it's just paint, right! Would you buy the flat latex or egg shell paint or use acrylics.If you varnish it afterwards, does it matter if you use flat latex.

Bookmark   February 5, 2004 at 12:56PM
sportsmom12

MaryAnn,