need help with sewing around corners

aliciavr6August 16, 2010

I'm making a bag, it has a top panel attached at both ends to a bottom panel, then I am to sew the 2 side panels onto this, I think of it as 3D sewing?? I'm a beginner obviously. The lining is constructed the same way, then gets dropped into the exterior. When sewing the lining with my machine, the fabric wrinkled, overlapped and just bunched up at the rounded corners, all 4! How do I prevent this so I get a nice rounded edge with no sewn in wrinkles? I have yet to sew the exterior because I know this will happen and have no idea how to do it correctly. :( Please help

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
oilpainter

Check your top tension. It might be too tight if the fabric is bunching. The stitching should meet in the middle of the fabric but not be so tight it pulls. Loosen the tension a tiny bit and sew on a scrap, then loosen again and test it out. If the thread loops on top or bottom then turn it back. Once you get the tension right it should sew better.

Sewing with a slippery fabric is challenging if you are a beginner. You might be better to hand baste with large stitches before you sew. Or pin it well every inch or so all around. Cotton makes a good lining too and is much easier to sew than lining material.

When you get to the corner go slow. Put your hands on the material--one hand flat and one on the edge and slowly turn your fabric as you sew. Or Take a couple of stitches then turn slightly, and take a couple more and continue until the corner is sewn. Again practice on fabric scraps until you get it right

Bookmark   August 17, 2010 at 3:58AM
sherrmann

And shorten your stitch length as you approach each corner, lengthening again after you've made each curve.

Bookmark   August 17, 2010 at 10:57AM
carolb_w_fl