Sewing Machine Back-up?

annie1971May 25, 2008

I took my serger in for repair a couple of weeks ago and now my sewing machine has gone wonkie and it's in the shop. My serger and sewing machine are both Bernina. I kind of think I should have a back up sewing machine or possibly a commercial grade sewing machine that just straight stitched like crazy. That's pretty much all I do anyway and don't need fancy stitches unless I could find something that embroidered without too much effort, as well. I would appreciate anybody's thoughts on basic quality machines.

I'm just getting started in a small business effort. I'm having a lot of fun, but can't stand to be without the use of my machines. Thanks for your opinions.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
damascusannie

If all you are looking for is a straight-stitch machine for back-up, I suggest finding a good vintage machine. I use nothing but antique and vintage machines (nothing newer than 1960) and have almost no problems with them, ever. I have a small machine quilting business and I do all my custom work on treadle sewing machines--I don't even like the idea of an electric motor conking out on me!

Annie

Bookmark   May 26, 2008 at 9:45AM
annie1971

Annie, I wish I had kept my 1968 Singer. Loved that machine! I think my reference to a back-up machine was not accurate. I'm thinking of a commercial machine to use exclusively and using my Bernina as back-up for straight stitch and whatever special things it can do for me, depending on my project. Gotta hand it to you, though. I guess that treadle never lets you down in a power outage, either.
Annie

Bookmark   May 26, 2008 at 7:39PM
damascusannie

Take a look at my machines (Studio and National Sewing Machines albums) and the work I'm doing with them (Quilts and Quilting Motifs albums.) I love my treadles, but good vintage electrics are pretty easy to find at thrift stores, garage sales and auctions.

Annie

Here is a link that might be useful: Annie's albums