Is this concrete driveway ready for pour

Toni1025August 22, 2014

Contractor says they are pouring my 6 inch driveway tomorrow. His forms are 2x4s. I would think you would need 2x6s for a six in driveway. Also, should all those big pieces of broken concrete still be in there? I have heard nothing bigger than your fist. But my main concern is the soft soil against my foundation. I don't think it's been tamped at all. I've never had a water problem or foundation problem. This is my biggest concern. Any help would be appreciated, as my gut is telling me to have him just STOP now.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
greg_2010

Basic math says that you can't pour 6 inches into a container that's only 4 inches deep. Unless the 2x4s are actually 2 inches up from the bottom.

But I'm no expert.

I also think that rebar is a good idea. Maybe not required, but it helps protect against cracking.

Bookmark   August 22, 2014 at 1:18PM
Toni1025

Agreed. Not reinforcing with rebar, which is why the 6 inches is so important. Thank you.

Bookmark   August 22, 2014 at 1:41PM
millworkman

Should be some sort of reinforcing I would think 6x6 10/10 wire-mesh would be the correct thing for a driveway

Bookmark   August 22, 2014 at 2:30PM
kudzu9

If you are going to pay for the concrete needed for a 6" deep driveway pour, don't cheap out: reinforce it with rebar (my preference) or mesh. It's a simple rectangle, nothing complicated: you should be able to cut the rebar and wire it together in a lot less than a day.

Bookmark   August 22, 2014 at 7:48PM
sunnyca_gw

Why are the stakes inside the 2x4's & not outside. Concrete will have uneven area where each of those are & isn't this going to the garage?

Bookmark   August 22, 2014 at 10:44PM
millworkman

Are you sure this guy is a masonry contractor? Seems like he really does not know what he is doing....

Bookmark   August 23, 2014 at 7:01AM
Trebruchet