who pays debts after death?

scarlett2001October 10, 2011

My ex and I parted many years ago, both eventually re-marrying. He has had many years of financial troubles, and is now in quite a lot of debt. Our daughter is wondering if his debt, should he die, will be passed on to her. I think it would be the responsibility of his present wife, but she has a very minor job and I doubt that she could shoulder it.

What are the rules for paying a debt after death?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
grainlady_ks

I'm not a lawyer, but I have handled both my parent's estates when they died.

You don't inherit, nor are you responsible to pay for, your parents debt. What he owns (property, vehicle/s, retirement accounts, etc.) will be used to pay what he owes. Anything left will be distributed according to his will, if he has one.

The only way you or your daughter would have to personally pay any of his debt is if your signature is also on the debt (co-owner of a home, business, vehicle, bank loan, credit card, etc.).

Perhaps this link will give you some general information that will be helpful.

-Grainlady

Here is a link that might be useful: Who Pays Off the Debts of a Deceased Person

Bookmark   October 10, 2011 at 5:50AM
vala55

No one in this country has to pay someone else's outstanding debts except the spouse. You make them, you or your spouse pays them. The exception is if you co sign for it.

Bookmark   October 13, 2011 at 6:01PM
maifleur01

Co signing for medical care can as little as giving permission for treatment. Always try to sign with the person that needs treatment. If you must sign with your name add the word "by" and the patient's name.

Bookmark   October 14, 2011 at 12:17AM
sushipup1

Never ever sign for someone's medical care. If the person cannot sign, there's a space for "person responsible". Say "patient". Period, unless you have great wealth.

Bookmark   October 14, 2011 at 12:21AM
lazy_gardens