the 'right' way to write

Momma_Bird_OHOctober 29, 2002

Both of my older 2 sons, ages K and 2nd grade, make thieir "circle letters" backwards - they make the circle from the right to the left, not left to right. When I try to correct them, they say it's easier or the letters look better. They have only started doing this recently.

Am I being too picky? I don't want to harp about making the circle on the a's, b's, d's, o's etc the "right" way if there isn't really a reason.

I thought the reason might be that later, when they learn cursive, if they don't go left to right making their circles, the letters won't come out correctly.

Can someone shed some light? TIA!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kteacher

Hi. I am a kindergarten teacher and it sounds like your children are writing their letters correctly. At our school we teach our students that when they write a letter a, d, o ect.. to write the circle part of the letter from right to left. We teach the D'nealian form of handwriting, also called modern manuscript. This will help the students make an easy transition into cursive writing later on. Hope this helps! Also, feel free to ask the teacher how she is teaching them to write their letters so you can reinforce it at home! Have a great day!

Bookmark   October 29, 2002 at 1:30PM
Momma_Bird_OH

oops - kteacher, I stated it wrong in my first message. They start the circle at the top, then go to the right first, and come up on the left. All the printing charts that show arrows for the strokes show starting on the right side, going to the left up and over, and coming up on the right side. That's also how I learned to write (granted, that was a million years ago). They are going backwards.

Bookmark   October 29, 2002 at 4:27PM
Kay_H