Egg drop

andrewOctober 24, 2001

Help, I have to drop an egg from three storys up have it land on a target 20cm wide in a 100gram or less box/package without breaking. Any ideas?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
shaggyhill_yahoo_com

Use lots of straws, cotton balls, and tape.

Bookmark   October 24, 2001 at 9:07PM
sadiesmom

okay-- I CAN'T believe science teachers are still using this one. Haven't heard of having to hit a target, so at least thats a little twist. Andrew, I am a teacher and a former scientist so I will not tell you exactly how to do it but think: Since you are limited to only 100 grams of packaging, if the package hits the ground at a high enough velocity, no matter how well it is packed, the force will cause the egg to break, right? (I know I am oversimplifying here) Think: the clue here is velocity. Please let us know what you do and how it works.

Bookmark   October 25, 2001 at 2:03AM
someone_somewhere_org

Put the egg inside a box filled with bubble-wrap. It worked for me. Good Luck~

Bookmark   January 31, 2002 at 9:08PM
trekaren

Come on guys, Sadiesmom is on the right track. Don't give the answer! That defeats the whole purpose of the exercise!

Bookmark   February 1, 2002 at 8:02AM
talley_sue_nyc

another scientific principle governing impact damage is dispersing the force. For example, the outer frames of some cars are designed to sort of falls apart when hit, and the inner frame (or cab of the car) stays intact to protect to occupant; the force of the blow is carries in all directions through the outer frame instead of traveling in a direct line to the inner frame and to the people inside, and therefore the force is dissipated. Of course, you could total your car more easily, but YOU are safe.

Bookmark   February 1, 2002 at 10:02AM
Nancy_Cline

Have you considered using styrofoam to pack the egg in?
Nancy

Bookmark   February 2, 2002 at 2:08AM
oceanorange

velocity...hint hint...think of a feather...