Making a hot pad

czigaJune 30, 2007

As I'm still new to this, I don't have any tips to offer . . . I do however have loads of questions which might help both me and others learn more . . . and I can certainly contribute those :)

I have been wondering lately about making a heat pad or a hot pad for kitchen use - you know, those pads that you lay down on the counter to protect it from hot pots or pans. Is there a special material to make them out of? I imagine that a quilted top, a layer or two of batting, and a backing would be enough layers of fabric to protect the counter, but what about the quilted top? Wouldn't regular cotton scorch under the heat of a really hot pot? Do you use a special fabric for the top? Or for the batting? Heat resistant?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
vicky4x4

Yep, they make special stuff for hot pads. It is heat resistant and they do sell it Joann's. But here is a link so you can read about it.

Here is a link that might be useful: hot pad batting

Bookmark   June 30, 2007 at 8:29PM
maryliz

There is a heat resistant batting called Insul-Brighthref> made by the Warm Company, makers of many types of quilt batting. It is available at Joann's in the interfacing display.

Bookmark   June 30, 2007 at 8:32PM
biwako_of_abi

I don't know about the best sort of filling for a hot pad, but here is a link to one that is made in an interesting way. I haven't tried it out yet.

Here is a link that might be useful: Folded Star Hot Pad directions

Bookmark   June 30, 2007 at 9:56PM
grammyp

I have one I keep on my counter and it is just cotton fabric with cotton batting and back. I don't use it to pick up hot things and it works just fine. Don't know if I would use it to protect wood surfaces, but on my counter I have no problems. If you want to use it to pick up hot pots or oven trays, you will want to use the Insul-Bright and heat resistant backing.

beverly

Bookmark   June 30, 2007 at 10:02PM
laurainsdca