Newbie Hot Tub Owner - Questions On Chemicals

gil_happyNovember 10, 2013

Hello,

I am a first time hot tub owner and I'm in the process of having my electrical contractor come out to my home and complete the electrical connections to my HotSpring Grandee Hot Tub which I have 'inherited' from my neighbor while he is renting.

I have a question namely about chemicals and maintaining the water. There is lots of information on the net about how to maintain and treat the water with different chemicals.

Does anyone have a suggestion about what chemicals to purchase (maybe ones that aren't so harsh to the body and swimming suit?) and testing equipment? I'm very new to this and the subject and I'm looking for any information that will help me out.

I'm sure Amazon.com probably has everything I need, but I need help navigating the process.

Thanks in advance!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
keithw

I have owed a hot tub for 25+ year and have tried most sanitation methods. Here is what I have found is most effective.

A. For sanitizer use Bromine tablets in a floater.
B. Use Mule Team 20 to raise ALK and Baking soda to raise PH. Until you get a feel for them do very small amounts. That is all that you really need to monitor. Buy a test strip kit that tests all three.
C. Get a second filter. Swap them every week, spray out the removed one well and leave it outside until the next swap. The sun and elements kill nasties.
D. Drain, clean and refill every three months minimum. Hard to say if you should do more frequently, it is based on how much you use it. But unless it is a huge tub, they do not take that much water and a drain and refill is always better that trying to fix bad water.

Bookmark   November 14, 2013 at 8:01AM
cparlf