Total newbie, diy inground spa?

enigmaquandrySeptember 5, 2011

I am completely new to the world of pools and spas. The hubby is from Alabama and bringing him up to the land of snow and cold, I'd like to make him an inground hot tub in the backyard. I'm open to any ideas for a simple diy job (though I understand these things aren't simple). I've considered fiberglass shells but they're a little too $$, livestock tanks, but I'm not sure they won't crack when buried in the freeze/thaw cycle. I'm recently thinking about pond/pool vinyl liner? Really we only need/want this thing to be quite small, maybe four people in it at the very most. We need it to have a filtering system and preferably some sort of heating/jet system. Realistically our budget is 1,000 or under but we are prepared to do ALL the work ourselves...we just need some experienced direction!

I am looking for any leads, links or ideas whatsoever, I really appreciate it!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
poolguynj

Just the pump, filter and heater will cost more than that. That doesn't cover the controller, electrical, plumbing, or the sitting area.

Scott

Bookmark   September 8, 2011 at 7:37AM
enigmaquandry

Hmmm, maybe I need to rethink some things. I had expected the components to be around $400ish, maybe I was thinking too low...

we're thinking of simplifying to perhaps no jets or heater, so really just a small, pool with a pump and filter. I'm not sure the best way to go about that, but it might be a more realistic approach.

Bookmark   September 9, 2011 at 10:31PM
goyom

I searched DIY hottub on google. This was the second result LOL.

http://www.wcc.net/~jkmccoy/hottub/hottub.htm

Bookmark   September 10, 2011 at 1:23PM
theballs