Cabot's Stain Question

walleyevisionJune 24, 2009

Ok, After much debate I've settled on Cabot's stain for my new cedar deck. Here's my question: should I use the semi-transparent or the semi-solid stain? I don't want it too dark, but I know the less pigment you have, the less protection. Let me know what you guys think. btw, the deck only gets morning sun.

thanks in advance

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
carolinma

I'm no expert but I just went through the same decision making process until I finally figured out that Cabot's 'Decking Stain', which is what I used, only comes in semi-solid or solid and is oil-based. The other types of stains are water-based, I believe, and those are the ones that come in semi-transparent, transparent etc. Maybe they are used more for siding? I have to say that I am very happy with the oil based stain..it really soaks into the wood for a very natural look (buy more than you think you need - I had to go back and get more). I used semi-solid Chestnut Brown and it is a rich, gorgeous color. Very happy.

Bookmark   June 24, 2009 at 4:33PM
murphy_zone7

I am no expert either but my project for today is staining my deck. Did final cleaning yesterday and it is ready. I am using Cabots Decking Stain which is an oil based semi-solid. Carolinma, believe it or not it is also the semi solid in Chestnut brown, oil based. Tried it out on a scrap of wood and the color is wonderful. Back to Walleyevisions question, look on the Cabot Stain web site and check out the differences in stains that they have. Three years ago I used the clear solution on the deck I am now re-doing, the solid acrylic stain on the rail system of my front porch and the solid oil based stain on my mom's front porch floor. All have held up exceedingly well.