above ground pools below ground- really?

mrshanson1April 30, 2011

Hi! I am new to this. I was watching on DIY network on the show King of Dirt that they fixed a backyard in Staten Island of an above ground pool that was built underground. I live in Boston, MA.

Can anyone give me feedback about this? I have two young boys that are dying for a pool. I cannot afford a gunite pool (my yard is small too). I know there are fiberglass pools. Do people really put an above ground pool below ground? Does anyone know what this costs? Does your taxes go up?

Thank you

Mrs

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
joanneswimsct

I saw that same episode and wondered as well! Looked like it worked out ok for them! Fiberglass pools can be costly so an above ground placed in ground I'd think would be less expensive. Hopefully we'll hear from the experts!
Joanne

Bookmark   April 30, 2011 at 10:13PM
poolguynj

There are a couple manufacturers that allow partial below grade installation. By partial, I mean less than two feet.

There is not enough strength when the water level goes below grade to hold the fill back, Walls often get pushed in.

Drainage needs to be addressed. Uneven percolation can cause washouts. Washouts equal blown out liners.

Township engineers, if they catch you, will likely make you remove it.

Scott

Bookmark   May 1, 2011 at 6:55AM
bobyoe

Search "on ground" pools. A couple companies make them. Doughboy...Amish Country maybe Fox.... s poolguynj says, they are not completely in the ground.

Bookmark   May 1, 2011 at 10:47AM
susied3

MrsHanson, we have an above ground pool which we put inground in 2005. It is not one of the brands which are designed for inground, however, we decided to take the risk and see what happened.