Backwater Preventer for heavy rains/flooding?

organicsueAugust 23, 2011

I am starting to look into this as we've been experiencing some crazy rains lately -- the last rain was about 8" and I noticed sediment in my basement tub that was left behind by the backing up water. So can anyone tell me what types of backwater preventers there are; any one particular kind stands out? Any I should avoid? I am a newbie with home issues and would appreciate any advice. Thanks very much.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
brickeyee

Make sure you can even install one.

They are not allowed under some codes.

They catch debris and clog easily, or fail to close as desired from debris.

Bookmark   August 24, 2011 at 10:09AM
lazypup

The first step is to determine how storm runoff is getting into the sanitary sewer system. With some extremely rare exceptions it is illegal to connect downspouts or other storm drains to a sanitary sewer line.

Bookmark   August 24, 2011 at 1:34PM
brickeyee

"With some extremely rare exceptions it is illegal to connect downspouts or other storm drains to a sanitary sewer line."

The problem is often in older communities that at one point allowed storm water to be discharged into the sanitary system.

In one house I used to own (built in the mid 1950s) the basement perimeter drains, including an outside door drain 4 feet below grade and under-slab drain lines had all been legally connected to the sanitary system at the time.

The restrictions arose when sewage treatment came into use, but the old connections are normally grandfathered.

Bookmark   August 24, 2011 at 5:01PM
ionized_gw