HELP!! Taupe couch that looks green

a.gree12March 16, 2013

Hello,

I am very new to this whole home buying and decorating world. My husband and I just bought our first home and FINALLY decided on furniture. However, I left him talk me into a darker taupe color for the couch than I wanted. Now that the couches are in our living room, they have this green hue to them. Is there any way that I can paint the walls a color to off set the green that is coming from the couches? The camera does not seem to pick up the green hue well and shows the couches to be much darker than they actually are. It's similar to an avocado color.

I would really appreciate any advice! Thanks!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bsmith1

Your couches look lovely. However, your drapes look pink. Perhaps they aren't, but if they're a beige/taupe color, they have much more pink/red in them than the sofas. The sofas have more of a gray/green to their taupe color. When you put these two variations together, they fight.

I'm linking to Maria Kiliam's blog post about different beiges. I don't love everything about her blog, but if you aren't familiar with undertones, specifically with beiges/taupes and how they can fight, this can be a helpful intro.

Here is a link that might be useful: Low down on beige

Bookmark   March 16, 2013 at 11:59PM
kswl2

Your sofas also look pink to me, on my iPad. Although I really like the chair, it and the wall color do not blend well at all with the sofas. I would change them if you have to live with the sofas even though I prefer the gray/yellow/white color scheme you seem to have had in mind at some point in this process.

Bookmark   March 17, 2013 at 8:23AM
andee_gw

It's so hard to see the colors on my monitor. Does your fabric chair work with your couch? If so, you might consider using the white color in the fabric as the wall paint color.

Bookmark   March 17, 2013 at 2:17PM
tinan