Is this design an improvement or prob with view from DR

alermarMarch 4, 2014

I'm deciding between these 2 designs (I think). I like Design2, but it means that the DR will have a direct view of the cleanup sink (I'm a messy cook). It seems to be a good use of the (huge) island though. Is there a way to have the option of closing off the kitchen? The problem is the open bar counter (which DH loves). Thoughts?

Design #1 (but flipping the cooktop, prep sink & stools)

Design #2

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
alermar

Or perhaps I should start over and get rid of the indoor/outdoor table. Maybe divide the island in half with a walkway in between -- one for prep/cooktop and the other for clean up? Like this

This post was edited by alermar on Tue, Mar 4, 14 at 11:57

Bookmark   March 4, 2014 at 11:28AM
alermar

Here is a link to the original design thread:
http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/kitchbath/msg0213170520238.html

Bookmark   March 4, 2014 at 12:25PM
robo (z6a)

I think design 2 is illogical. There's something I don't like about the sink being right opposite the cooktop. So I much prefer design 1. I don't think you'll mind having that big expanse of countertop around your cooktop. It will be prep central! I also think you should move those stools from the end to actually face the cook. Because when the stools are in use they're going to crowd your breakfast bar area way too much. Or jettison the stools altogether if you already have seating at the indoor outdoor table, seating at the living room bar and seating at the dining room table. Three seating areas is probably enough.

Transitional Kitchen by Pennington Interior Designers & Decorators AJ Margulis Interiors

You could also consider satisfying DH's need for a bar and your need for stools by doing some more reconfiguring and adding an indoor/outdoor bar instead of a table, near the grill somewhere:

Mediterranean Patio by Los Angeles General Contractors SoCal Contractor