Nikon D3000 help

gulf_pirate2009October 12, 2009

I purchased a Nikon D3000 last week. I read the owners manual several times and finally had a chance to take it out, charge the battery, and take a few pictures. I have been using it in auto mode since I am still learning about photography. Several of my pictures have been very blurry and not the quality that I hoped for. This is my first "real" camera. My pervious cameras were simple point and shoot and very simple to use. Is there anything that I can do to improve the quality of the pictures? Also, the description of the camera stated that there is no delay when you press the shoot button. Mine has a delay. Is it because of autofocus trying to adjust?

Thanks in advance.

Byron

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
zitro_joe

I will have to see pics and exif data to better help.

You sure did make a big purhase for a first time camera.

There should be no delay, no offense but it might be something your doing, maybe not.

Joe

Bookmark   October 12, 2009 at 11:58AM
gulf_pirate2009

Thanks Joe, I'm sure it is something I'm doing. I just can't figure it out. I deleted most of the blurred pictures I took. While reading the manual on the lens, it said that the vibration reduction mode does not activate when the camera is in auto-flash.
I'll try to post a few tonight. I still need to sign in on photobucket to load my images.

Bookmark   October 12, 2009 at 1:55PM
alisande

Hi, Byron. After you are armed with Joe's advice, in addition to studying your manual you might want to spend some time reading posts at DPReview's Nikon forums. You can gain a lot of information that way. DPR actually has several Nikon forums; I don't know which one is for the D3000, but here's one to get you started:

Nikon D300-D100 Forum

And here's a popular forum for beginner's questions. Believe me, some of the questions from those "beginners" are not all that basic!

Beginners' Questions Forum