Finished: Dining Room wall decor (plates, lampshades, etc.)

valinsvMarch 19, 2013

Some of you may recall I had posted a few weeks ago about updating the wall decor in my dining room to incorporate some vintage plates from my Grandmas that I had been storing in a cabinet for many years but rarely used. I imagine some may think it's a tad busy, but it makes me smile every time I walk by and remember each of my grandmas in a special way. Thank you to all who weighed in with your votes and suggestions. It really helped!

This is what it looked like before:

This was my first attempt:

And this is what it looks like now:

I even managed to find a spot for the egg plate on an adjacent wall:

DH was not thrilled to have to remount the mirror in the vertical direction as it's quite heavy. He never really suggests that I replace perfectly good items with something new, but he kept asking, did I want a newer, smaller (and lighter) mirror or just keep it in the same orientation.

I felt like I also needed a different centerpiece for the dining table for spring/summer so decided to use a crystal bowl with lemons temporarily until I find just the right thing.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
patty_cakes

Val, there's no such thing as too busy, is there? I love a room filled w/stuff, makes it cozy and interesting. I like your finished room, especially the plates closer together. The egg plate might need a couple of friends to keep it company~it looks as tho it's floating. Smaller plates would be ok too~do you have any thrift stores near you? I like the use of the lemons too~carrying the yellow to the table 'works'. I agree, re:the bowl. Something footed to raise them up would be ideal, even a cake plate. I recently bought a silver plate one for $3.98. Can't beat that! Check out your thrift stores for goodies. ;o)

Bookmark   March 19, 2013 at 2:34AM
Annie Deighnaugh

Well done!

Bookmark   March 19, 2013 at 8:35AM
cooperbailey