Raised panel dishwasher

nhbasketsFebruary 13, 2014

We hope to have a raised dishwasher with cabinet panel in our new kitchen. Any idea how to handle what would normally be the toe kick if the DW were on the floor? Looking on Houzz I see pictures with drawers immediate beneath the DW, which is what I was hoping to do. The cabinetmaker we met with this week had never done a raised DW so was unclear how it would work. We plan to have inset cabinets.

Thanks for any help you can give!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
patty_cakes

How high off the floor is it? I've never heard or seen such an application w/drawer underneath, but it sounds neat.

Bookmark   February 13, 2014 at 8:51PM
nhbaskets

Hi patty, I'm thinking 8-10 inches off the floor. The purpose would be to make it easier to load/unload as we age. Not getting any younger!

This is an example.

Bookmark   February 13, 2014 at 9:07PM
sena01

Did you find any pictures with the drawer open?

I have no actual knowledge, just guessing. Maybe the drawer front is made high enough to hide the toe kick??

Bookmark   February 14, 2014 at 9:30AM
nhbaskets

I'm not able to find any photos with the drawer open. This shows a rail under the bottom of the DW and then the drawer. The issue the cabinetmaker was unclear on was having adequate clearance for the DW door to open without hitting the rail or drawer.

Bookmark   February 14, 2014 at 7:55PM
sena01

Did you find a solution?

I don't know why, but I received the e mail copy of your post of Feb. 14, only 2 hours ago.

Anyway, if you haven't reached an answer yet, maybe opening a new tread indicating you need help regarding the cabinet may attract the attention of the pros in the forum, or you can try the appliances forum.

Bookmark   February 17, 2014 at 6:30PM
fishymom