Toddler banging head

cowbiterNovember 24, 2001

I have a 21 mo old son who still sleeps in a crib. At night while he is asleep, he bangs his head and arms agains the sides of the crib. Some nights he is so loud, it sounds like the crib will fall apart. He always sleeps through it, and it doesn't seem to bother him at all. He literally throws himself into the sides as he sleeps!! I am worried that he will hurt himself. Sometimes he does wake up with a red mark on his cheek, or a small bump on his head.

Does anyone else have a baby that does this?!?!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
euphorbia

I have heard about babies that do this and have a family member who went through this. The person that did this grew up to be a very normal and healthy adult. I am not an expert but just wanted to let you know not to worry. You should discuss with your doctor though, just for reassurance.

Bookmark   November 25, 2001 at 8:51PM
LYNN3521_aol_com

I guess you have bumper pads around the crib of your bed??If you do not I suggest you get some to soften your child bumping up against the rails , footboard or headboard of the bed. I know his arms could go higher than the bumper pads though.

A question. Is your son on any medications? The reason I ask is that my son when younger if on some antihistimines, decongestants, antibiotics - he would start bumping his head on the wall (he at that time was in a reg. bed) so I was just wondering if this could be the case with your son. Several times we had to have medication stopped and changed because of this happening.

~Lynn~

Bookmark   November 26, 2001 at 8:17AM
cowbiterzz_aol_com

He does not use bumper pads because he is an escape artist and uses them to climb out of the crib. He has also become tangled in them, so I removed them. He has been doing this since he was about 8-9 mos old. He is not on any medication, and the doctor says that he is fine, and that if it hurt, he wouldn't do it.