New Granite Install - Backsplash Seam

teal123February 4, 2014

Hi everyone, We just had our granite installed yesterday. I am happy with all of it except one place where two pieces come together on the backsplash. It is in a corner that is very visible. It looks like they tried to match the backsplash with the counter below, but the two backsplash pieces don't match each other. Does anyone know if a piece or two of backsplash can be removed and replaced now that it is in? Also, do you think I should ask them to replace it, or just live with it? Any advice is greatly appreciated - Thanks so much!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
teal123

Here is another picture so you can see it from a distance.

Bookmark   February 4, 2014 at 11:26AM
teal123

Here is another picture so you can see it from a distance.

Bookmark   February 4, 2014 at 11:37AM
Zivman

It's natural stone. I think it looks fine. I'd let it be

Bookmark   February 4, 2014 at 11:49AM
ardcp

I'm not an expert just a homeowner but i think it looks great. I wouldn't mess with it. Especially with all the problems you see with seams, if your seems are good and tight I would be afraid to mess around with a reinstall.

Bookmark   February 4, 2014 at 11:52AM
kompy

It looks fine. You'll never notice it once you've lived with it for a while. If you want it redone....it should be at your expense. The fabricators did a really nice job. I would not expect them to re-do this at no charge.

Bookmark   February 4, 2014 at 12:58PM
teachertile

It's not the best, but its ok. I would probably just put something in that corner so it won't be noticeable.

Bookmark   February 4, 2014 at 1:33PM
may_flowers

Was there a better piece left on the slab? I wouldn't be happy with just that one dark piece, but if you didn't attend the template layout and just let them cut how they wanted to, you can't really complain. You'll have to ask them if it can be replaced at your cost.

Bookmark   February 4, 2014 at 2:53PM