Becoming a 'Crone'

i_can_get_nastyJune 9, 2007

I'm 47 and haven't had a period in 2 months. I experienced some hotflashes awhile ago but I can't say it was really that unpleasant. This year my only son also got married and moved away. So I'm asking myself - what am I here for? what's my purpose?

I've noticed a real need to right the wrongs in this world. It's like I'm on a mission and I can't stop myself. I am currently totally obsessed with fighting a destructive development in our rural community. It has absolutely taken over my life and is even starting to affect my health. I can't turn it off and have even had an episode where I had constant panic attacks for 3 days.

I am furious all the time with the world and the people in it. I've made a name for myself writing letters to the editor and stirring up sh%#. I tell you this is not me. I've never done this before in my life.

Could this be the crone emerging? I am really going through a change of values and priorities. Anybody else experience this emotionally?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
junebug1961

I'm getting there, believe you me. I'm 45. I'm getting to the point where I don't care how I may appear to others...I just say what I think. Is that what's going on with you? I think it's a pleasant reprieve from all that femmie pleasing stuff I used to do.

Bookmark   June 9, 2007 at 10:28PM
i_can_get_nasty

Your absolutely right, Junebug. I now have the attitude "If you don't like what I'm saying or doing...too bad". It really is freeing actually. There are so many more rewarding, important things to focus on in life than trying to fit into the perfect mold.

Bookmark   June 10, 2007 at 7:04AM
georgia_mountain_lad

Somebody should make a movie featuring "The Crone." Kind of like Chucky? Let's see, who should star in it.....definitely Kathy Bates. Seriously, I'll bet this stage of life figures into all kinds of crimes! :)

Bookmark   June 10, 2007 at 10:35AM
i_can_get_nasty