Best FL washer/dryer for 2nd floor laundry room

mwredeNovember 20, 2010

I am new to the laundry forum and would appreciate your help. We have a baby due in 4 weeks and we would love to take advantage of the upcoming sales to get a new washer/dryer set. We are looking for an extra large capacity front loading washer and a gas dryer for our 2nd floor laundry room.

We currently have a 5 yr old Kenmore set w/ pedestals that came with the house. The washer is expremely loud and shakes and moves violently every time it spins, plus water doesn't drain fully which makes the washer smell bad. The dryer is ok but would love something that performs better in terms of wrinkles.

I would appreciate any suggestions. What's the best washer/dryer we could get? Thanks in advance!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
herring_maven

An all-brands washer repairperson who has decades of experience (John Shipkowski) says that the washers that are best suited for installation on wooden floors are those from Samsung or the subset of LG washers that have "square" windows in the door. See his post (the fourth message in the thread) in the Consumer Reports Forum thread that is linked below.

Here is a link that might be useful: Thread that addresses washer vibration

Bookmark   November 20, 2010 at 5:15PM
apalmieri

Except during spin, I don't even hear my Electrolux IQ. I probably would save money next time and not get the steam option on both the washer and dryer.

Bookmark   November 23, 2010 at 3:14PM
andreaplants