Country style shoulder bone-in pork ribs

countrygal_905July 2, 2012

I am considering grilling country style pork ribs for Sunday dinner. We have between 20-25 most Sundays for dinner. It has been really hot and I want to only use the grill and not precook in the oven. I have never done that before. What temperature should I grill them at and approx. how long will it take? Thanks so much for your help.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lindac

How much time do you have? LOL!
they will be fabulous grilled as low as you can go for about 4 hours....with some source of smoke....like damp wood chips in a semi closed container.
Or you could cook for a shorter time at a higher temp.
They are done when tender. if the rest of the stuff isn't ready, spritz with sauce and wrap in foli and keep warm at the edge of the grill.

Bookmark   July 2, 2012 at 6:34PM
deeebert

Interesting, years ago a butcher told me that shoulder chops made the best grilled pork because of the layers of fat marbled through the meat. Although your quantities are large why wouldn't grilling them according to thickness give you a good product?

Bookmark   July 2, 2012 at 7:00PM
CKGM

They cook pretty quick compared to other style ribs. I did them in the oven for a couple of hours before putting them on the grill and they pretty much fell apart! You could do them at a low heat for 2 hours grill only and they would be delish. . They make great pulled pork too-tastier than the shoulder in my opinion:)

Bookmark   July 2, 2012 at 9:27PM
countrygal_905

Thanks so much for the responses. They are on sale here this week so I think that will be the meat for Sunday dinner. Does low heat mean around 250 or higher than that?

Bookmark   July 2, 2012 at 10:10PM
Cynic