Is there a trick to drying sheets?

foodonastumpMarch 2, 2014

Sorry if this has been addressed before a million times, my google search didn't find a discussion.

A couple (few?) years ago I bought a Samsung WF520ABP washer because I needed a new washer, and a matching DV520AEP dryer because, well, it matched.

I'm no laundry expert so these suit me fine, washer washes with no mold issues, dryer dries, EXCEPT sheets and blankets. They roll up in a ball and don't dry. Short of interrupting he cycle every 15 minutes or so to unroll, shake them out, and restart, I can't get them to dry. More often than not I end up spreading them out over chair backs and sofas to finish air drying.

While this would occasionally happen with dryers in my past, this is BY FAR the worst. Any hints?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
mrb627

Dryer Loading.

When I load sheets into the dryer, I typically load the flat sheet in the back, then the fitted in the front, and the pillow cases go towards the back with the flat sheet. Amazingly, they do stay separated through the cycle.

Of course, I have a different brand dryer. But give it a shot and see if your results change.

MRB

Bookmark   March 3, 2014 at 8:15AM
dave1812

place tennis balls into white socks (to prevent staining) and throw those into the dryer with sheets. I usually use 3 of them (in separate socks, of course).

Bookmark   March 3, 2014 at 2:27PM
dadoes

There are a (very) few dryers that reverse the tumble direction every few minutes through the cycle to help avoid large/bulky items from balling-up.

Some dryers may have baffles (fins, vanes) that are designed to toss items back-and-forth between front and back of the drum.

Bookmark   March 3, 2014 at 3:23PM
sparky823

When you get them out of the washer, fold each sheet like you are going to put them in the closet, not that neatly though. Throw in the dryer and dry as usual. See if this keeps them from balling up. It does work.