ASKO Washer not working

jenp4February 15, 2014

Hello! I bought a slightly used Asko washer from someone who insisted it worked well. Once I got it home, the door wouldn't open, even though it ran fine through the wash cycle. I ran it several times (empty of course, since I can't get clothes in it), and it would fill, agitate, spin, drain, stop and never unlock. I did notice that it sounded very LOUD when it was spinning. Not like metal on metal, but much louder than I would think a well-designed washer should sound (I have never used an Asko before to know what is normal, though).

Now, a couple days and half a dozen cycles trying to get it to finally unlock, it won't agitate or spin. Fills with water but sits there until it drains.

Can anyone help me? I researched for a long time how to open it manually and even contacted Asko directly (they were not much help). I was unable to manually open it. I only have one service option in town and they are very expensive.

Thank you!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rococogurl

jen - You don't mention which model you have so I don't know how much this will help.

I had a 6021. There was a penny trap panel on the bottom left. There is a 2-step process for clearing the machine and opening it. There is a manual override in the penny trap.

First, you need to clear the penny trap and drain excess water out of the machine. A shallow baking dish -- at least 3 quarts with a towel under it is necessary -- the water comes out rapidly with who knows what else and there's a lot of it. This process is designed to reset the washer. I did it once and it worked.

Also in that area there is a red manual override release pull. It will open the door.

I happen to still have my old 6021 washer manual. I scanned the 2 pages with step-by-steps and diagrams for this into pdfs so they would be readable. But this site doesn't accept pdfs nor does photobucket.