beanie pattern without the point

tigermommyNovember 12, 2008

Hello everyone, Would anyone have a pattern for a child's beanie cap? I have several , but when I decrease it always goes to a point.. I have blocked..but I would really like a pattern that has a rounded top to it. Surely there is one out there ?

Also is there a mistake in these directions.? Its the Row 4 of a shawl Iam trying to knit . Here they are

K3, *insert needle through next st and y o and K1, yo, K1 in same st, sl both yo and st off needle (3 sts made) P3, repeat from * across row, ending last repeat with K 3.

I've never done this stitch before and Iam really confused .

thanks for any help.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
damascusannie

Hmmm....how do you do the decreases at the top? You need to work decreases in every row/round for about the last six decreasing rounds in order to get it to round off at the top.

Annie

Bookmark   November 12, 2008 at 5:24PM
tigermommy

Hi Annie, heres what I do . I start the decreases this way..according to the directions.
Knit 8, k2tog, finish the row like this, then I knit two rows , then I go down the line .. knit 7, k2tog, knit two rounds , etc etc...when Iam done the knit 1, K2tog, I do two rounds and then K 2 together until I have 6 sts on the needle. Then I put the stitches on a yarn needle and gather them. thats it ???? I get a cap for a cone head lol.

Bookmark   November 12, 2008 at 5:37PM
sheilajoyce_gw

I would decrease some more before stopping.

Bookmark   November 12, 2008 at 6:29PM
damascusannie