HELP!! I just can't do it.

gracie01September 28, 2008

I have a shawl pattern with homespun yarn & a size J crochet hook. I need to chain 139 first. I've twice ripped out my work because the chains "disappear" to my eye. Should I try a larger hook? I'm trying to chain loosely, but I still can't seem to "find" the stitches.

p.s. this is my first attempt with homespun yarn.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
socks

I can understatand this, and I'm sure others here will be more helpful than I--but are you saying you are having trouble getting the chain done, or is it difficult to work the second row into those chains?

I don't think a larger hook would help.

Bookmark   September 28, 2008 at 12:22PM
proudmary56

It is the yarn.

Bookmark   September 28, 2008 at 2:51PM
socks

Well it is the yarn, but how can Gracie get through this difficult start? I was wondering if you could make your starting chain with the homespun and a second thinner yarn of contrasting color and then clip it out later. Just a thought--I've never tried it.

Bookmark   September 28, 2008 at 3:00PM
donna_loomis

While you could do as socks suggested, I expect you will have the same trouble all through your piece. Crocheting with homespun is a chore. At least in knitting, you can see all your stitches on the needle. You might try crocheting the entire piece with another yarn or thread held together with the homespun.

Bookmark   September 28, 2008 at 5:22PM
gracie01

Thanks all, you know I think I'll try some scrap yarn with the homespun. I made the chain last night, then when making the first row of stitches I had some chain left over, but my stitch count was correct, so obviously I was putting more than one stitch in each chain. Wish me luck, or else the yarn is going back to the store.

Bookmark   September 28, 2008 at 5:40PM
socks

Keep us posted on how it goes. I think it's a very forgiving yarn as far as small errors go. Good luck.

Bookmark   September 28, 2008 at 9:58PM
gracie01