Knitting & Crocheting Newbie!

tumblingtomatoesJune 11, 2010

Hi everyone!

I was looking up some info on gardening here on the gardenweb & just happened to notice there is a section for knitting & crocheting! Hoorah! I am a complete newbie at knitting & crocheting (my daughter wants to learn tatting over summer as well) so this is exciting! Can anyone share any beginner patterns with me (especially knitting - I have learned to cast on, knit, purl, yarn over, knit 2 together & cast off so far-just very basic stuff)? Thanks!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
oilpainter

Well tumblingtomatoes--

Learn to increase and decrease and you will know 3/4 of what there is to learn about knitting. It's the combinations of these things that make a pattern. The more combinations the harder the pattern.

I suggest you browse through the yarn companies websites--Pattons, Bernat, Red Heart, and Lion Brand.
They have patterns that are printable and graded easy, medium and expert.

Bookmark   June 11, 2010 at 5:16PM
jjknitter

Love your screen name!!
This site has knitting instructions that will be useful--
http://www.craftown.com/knitlesson.htm
If you do a search www.google.com on search line type in
whatever you want and list will come up and just click on
what you need. There are videos showing how to do different stitches/techniques.
Hope this will get you started and good luck.

Bookmark   June 11, 2010 at 5:40PM
socks

Check out ravelry.com. Even though this is a wonderful forum here, Ravelry is even more active. Joining is free.

As oilpainter said, Lion Brand is a good place to go for patterns. They are free (you might have to join there too). There is one scarf pattern called the The Road Scarf which would be a good practice project as it incorporates 4 different pattern stitches and you learn how to do a border to keep the scarf from rolling.

Good luck, have fun!

Bookmark   June 12, 2010 at 9:08AM
tumblingtomatoes