Crocheting Socks

flynflowerApril 5, 2009

All the posts about knitting socks had me wanting to learn to knit socks. I love to knit, but I'm still a beginner at knitting and I am self taught. I still want to learn to knit socks, but I'm going through a medical crisis right now and don't have a lot of brain energy. lolol. So I though hey why not crochet them. I've been crocheting for over 30 years. So I found a book at AC Moore on Crocheted Socks by Janet Rehfeldt and Mary Jane Wood. It is GREAT! The socks are so cute and look knitted! I could not believe how finely crocheted they are and the stitches are so small , I love it! And the best part is , I ALREADY KNOW THE STITCHES! LOLOLOL

I'm using a new (to me anyway) yarn called Patons stretch socks. It is superfine lightweight blend of cotton, wool nylon and elastic. 50grams a skein . I'm using the multi green and it is so pretty! Anyway, I am crocheting socks and I love it!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
justlinda

My feet are always cold, but I bet these crocheted socks would fit the bill. They are ankle socks.

These look easy enough for people, like me, who are knitting-challenged. And the pattern is FREE.

:)

Here is a link that might be useful: Crocheted Ankle Socks ~ Free Pattern

Bookmark   April 5, 2009 at 7:28PM
rmlanza

Yeah for you!! Let us know how they turn out!

How are you liking the Patons stretch? I started some knit socks with it, got about halfway through and stopped. I just didn't like that yarn very much. It was too stretchy, I couldn't tell if I was keeping my tension too tight or too loose. I love the regular Patons sock yarns, just couldn't get into that stretch stuff. Maybe I'll try again though.

Be sure to post pics of your socks when you're done!
Robin

Bookmark   April 5, 2009 at 10:06PM
profsusan