Working with rice paper wrappers...

chancesmomApril 9, 2010

I have never tried this before and want to make spring rolls this weekend. I saw a recipe on Ellen of all places and thought it looked tasty and healthy. The rice paper is just soaked in warm water and wrapped around the filling, but not fried or cooked further. This weekend is Chances birthday (9 yrs old already -how the heck did that happen!!) and I am going to be quite busy both Saturday and Sunday.

My question is - can I make the springrolls a few hours in advance and still have them tasty and the right texture. I am worried the rice paper will get hard or crumbly?

Any one have any thoughts?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
teresa_nc7

When I make my fried spring rolls I don't soak the wrappers. Instead, I place a few on a clean linen towel and spray them with water from a spray bottle, let the sit a minute or two, then fill them. I've not made the rolls that were not cooked, but I know the rice wrappers to be very delicate and easy to tear. Also, maybe they would stick together if made too far ahead? I would not cut them into serving portions until ready to serve.

Here is a comment from one web site:

Spring rolls can be made a day ahead. Cover them with a damp paper towel, then wrap well in plastic wrap, and refrigerate. Refrigerating firms and toughens the wrappers and noodles slightly (if they are a little dry, wipe them gently with a damp cloth).

Bookmark   April 9, 2010 at 7:02AM
rachelellen

I organized a banquet once where the client wanted these. We made them in the morning, and didn't cut them until half an hour before serving and they did quite well. After making them, we stored them in the walk in fridge on large baking trays with a layer of plastic wrap on the tray and one lightly laid over them.