Basement carpet pad

olchikAugust 12, 2011

We are finishing our basement and going with carpet as the floor covering. For carpet we picked Stainmaster and now I need a pad. I have read online that it's best to go for a synthetic pad which will be mold and mildew resistant and allow the carpet to breathe. We had problems with water in the past and this spring installed an internal drain tile, so I hope that if there is any moisture, it will be minimal.

Anyway, I just wanted to see if anyone has any opinions on the pad that my contractor got from his dealer. It's a Syntex 40 carpet cushion by Leggett&Platt. It's 100% synthetic fiber, 40oz per sq yard, claims to have excellent thermal insulation and accoustical properties. Does anyone have experience with this pad?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
jeff1137

First, I have about 20 years of experience selling carpet cushion on the manufacturing level.

The L&P synthetic cushion will be fine except it won't feel like much. Part of the benefit of using a carpet cushion is that it provides some cushion when you walk. Synthetic fiber cushions are very dense and provide little comfort under foot. The 40oz. version that has been recommended to you is the most comfortable of all the fiber options, so you may find this acceptable.

There are a number of polyurethane cushions that will feel better when you walk on them that are treated to be mold and mildew resistant. Most major cushion manufacturers offer a bonded or prime polyurethane cushion with this feature.

I am not sure I agree with the comment that synthetic fiber will "allow the carpet to breathe." Not sure how that is possible.

Good luck,

Jeff

Bookmark   August 14, 2011 at 7:27PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
olchik

Thank you for the answer, Jeff