What should we purchase first?

BillCJanuary 16, 2003

What should we purchase first? The domain name or the Domain site? I guess this may sound stupid but IM a rank novice. Thanks Bill

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
prettyphysicslady

It doesn't matter.

Often when you rent the site, they will take care of registering your domain name and setting up the name servers for you.

If you get the name first, you can still probably have the domain site set up the name servers for you.

Either way. I think site then name would be slightly easier but not worth worrying about.

Bookmark   January 16, 2003 at 6:11PM
lazy_gardens

You don't "buy" a site, you rent space somewhere for it. Even the domain name is merely leased ...

pair.com has excellent service, and will combine registration with setting up server space and emails.

Bookmark   January 17, 2003 at 9:12AM
BillC

Thanks for your replies. You guys are very kind. I don't move very fast but when I get started I'll let you know. The site will be used for Historic Photos of my home town, an IM an amateur wildlife Photographer. Posting these Photos is the only HTML that I know, Bill

Bookmark   January 17, 2003 at 2:33PM
Ray_Scheel

I'd get the name first. The setup processes for many of the discout hosting services require you to already have the domain name you are going to use, so you wantot make sure that no one beast you to purchasing that name (or already has a lock on it). But it also simplifies thing to ahve picked your hosting provider, but just don't sign up.

1. Find DNS numbers / names for desired hosting provider
2. Register domain name & supply DNS info for hosting provider
3. Purchase hosting for your new doman name.

You can also go back and change the registrar's DNS info after signing up for hosting.

Bookmark   January 17, 2003 at 3:11PM
prettyphysicslady