questions about receivers...

mdmomof3May 25, 2009

Sorry, but I am a bit tech unsavy and I am not sure if I am getting fleeced by the company doing the install. (Yes I have trust issues).

We are building and have gotten 3 quotes for whole house wiring and a theater room. They ranged from 18k to 30k and I cant tell the difference. We are getting whole house audio, with 6 zones (just the controls with volume), 7.1 theater set up, and a exercise room wired separate with an ipod dock.

So far, the recs are for a Denon AVR-3808CI, AVR 1901 or a Yamaha RXV663 receiver. There are all considerably different in price but no one will tell me what is the biggest bang for the buck. My husband is not tech savy either, so we just need and on/off switch and the ability to play movies, CDs and listen to the radio. The installer say that we can purcharse our own compenents but seem to push towards the more expensive, not sure we need all of the options since we wont be using them anytime soon.

Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
gsenthil

Go with the Yamaha - they probably get more commission on the higher end components. Stay away from Harman Kardon - they seem to have reliability issues.

Bookmark   June 10, 2009 at 2:43PM
mdmomof3

thanx for the help. yamaha it is.

Bookmark   June 10, 2009 at 6:54PM
mongoct

I'm a little late to this party, but some receivers are better at music, some better at theater.

For music and home theater, I think the Denon is a better all around product. It does both very well.

Bookmark   June 14, 2009 at 10:35PM
twothumbz

I think Denon receivers tend to have a brighter sound, while Yamahas are more mellow and subtle, but you can't go wrong with either, both are great brands.

Bookmark   June 22, 2009 at 11:40AM
lovinghusband