Staining/Painting Parawood?

francienolanMarch 2, 2011

Hi, I'm new in these parts, I can't believe the wealth of information I've found here!

I want a square coffee table, but I want it cheap. I found one at CSN stores, but it's made of unfinished parawood (rubber wood). After googling myself silly, I'm not sure if this can be successfully finished, either with stain or paint.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
francienolan

Forgot to add: This table would be subject to a lot of use...feet propped on it, etc.

Bookmark   March 2, 2011 at 10:38AM
bobismyuncle

A lot of low-end furniture is made of parawood, aka rubberwood, aka malaysian oak (!?!) It's heavy and dense.

I've refinished a couple of pieces of it, but can't remember much of the details, so it must have been not a problem.

If you are unsure of how things will work try out a few candidates on the bottom of the table top before committing to your project.

Bookmark   March 2, 2011 at 10:37PM
francienolan

Good idea, why hadn't I thought of that? I have a DR table, chairs, and china cabinet I was told was Brazilian Mahogany that ended up being parawood. I repainted it, but thought the paint would NEVER cure, even after sanding, using great primer and great paint. I'm very happy with the furniture, it is very heavy, but don't know if I want to go through all that again. I'm thinking of spray painting this one. You've encouraged me, thanks so much.

If anyone else has any experience with parawood, I'd appreciate any tips you have.

Bookmark   March 3, 2011 at 9:28PM
rmanbike