retirement party, who hosts?

poolownerOctober 31, 2007

question on retirement party. Stupid question but I will ask anyway. Who should "throw" a party for someone who retired. Husband/wife of retiree or children of retiree?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lindac

Anyone who wants to....but most often it's the employer on the last day of work....but often there is a bigger bash thrown by the retiree...and/or the spouse.
Linda C

Bookmark   November 1, 2007 at 1:04AM
cheerful1_gw

poolowner: it's a good question. My husband is eligible for retirement next year, and I want to throw him a party. My question is, who do I invite so it doesn't get out of hand?

Bookmark   November 1, 2007 at 8:46AM
sudiepav

What a great question! I've been pondering this for a couple of years. I'm a teacher, retiring in June '09. Typically, at our school, good friends of the retiree plan a party, send out flyers and those who choose to come pay $25 a head for dinner. The entertainment is either testimonials or comedy skits. I LOATHE this and certainly want nothing of it when I retire. I am thinking of having the staff and a few other friends in education come to my house after school one day for an open house/happy hour kind of thing. I've been there too long to just sneak away without notice (my first choice), so I think I'll set it up myself and thus do what I want. I think those retiring in business have a myriad of possibilities. Someone "important" to the firm may get a big bash. In a small company, often the retiree is just taken out for dinner by close associates. I think it's all over the map. This sounds like a good topic for discussion.

Bookmark   November 1, 2007 at 10:59AM
poolowner