Scratches behind walls

ssintenseNovember 4, 2009

This morning at about 3:30 I woke up to scratching sounds behind my wall. It sounded like whatever was behind the wall was rather large..I thought I could hear its movements. For about 2 hours until I finally moved to another room to sleep, it scratched around my room in a circular pattern. Is it likely something that is stuck, or is this some sign of an attempted nesting? When I went back into my room at about 8 in the morning, the sound was gone.

I will admit, i'm a college student and my room isn't the cleanest. It isn't a complete disaster and I don't have any food spills or anything. Is there some reason that it would be attracted to my particular room?

I'm going to clean out my room today just incase. I hope it's only something that is stuck. This is important because I know there are some critical pipe lines behind these walls.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
mike_kaiser_gw

With the colder weather it's not uncommon to find that rodents and other wild animals start to look for a new home. These pests, just like us, are looking for water, food, and somewhere warm to live. Certainly if you leave food around, it can attract them but sometimes they come inside just to find a warm place to sleep.

I'd suggest cleaning your room and then calling whomever is responsible for building maintenance.

Bookmark   November 4, 2009 at 5:00PM
joed

Could be a small mouse or a rat or squirrel.

Bookmark   November 5, 2009 at 8:19AM
davidandkasie

even a small rodent can sound rather large.

Bookmark   November 5, 2009 at 11:53AM
sameboat

Or a bat. We had bats. They scratch and also squeak - the aqueak sometimes sounds like a kissing noise or air escaping a heat pipe. They finally rested the the base of the wall in our bedroom where we were able to pop off the baseboard and get them out.