WW for guys

stir_fryiMay 14, 2009

My DH had the opportunity to join at work -- he needs to lose about 60lbs.

I could stand to lose 10lbs so I told him I'd help him and do it with him (without joining myself).

He tried about five years ago and instantly lost 10lbs -- then he just quit. The problem was I was doing all the point counting for him and making him special meals and I found it to be a real burden.

He thinks WW is too geared to women. If he joins, I really need him to learn the program and to live it -- not dump it on me to tell him what he can eat and how much. I have two young kids that I have to feed as well.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
harold14370

I agree with you. It will never work until he takes ownership of it himself. Maybe he will be like me and wait until he develops diabetes or even something worse. I hope he's smarter than that.

He's lucky to have someone like you who cares.

I have no experience with Weight Watchers. I'm just doing it on my own. If he just needs a program to follow there are plenty of them on the internet. I would suggest he go to the USDA Mypyramid website and register, then start a daily journal. That would be a starting point.

Here is a link that might be useful: mypyramid

Bookmark   May 14, 2009 at 10:31AM
trekaren

There were men in all my WW groups I have been in. They seemed to enjoy themselves, moreso if they went as couples (we had a few couples join together, too).

And if it's motivation, their metabolism seemed to take to the WW eating plan better than mine did, losing weight way more rapidly than I did, for sure.

Bookmark   May 14, 2009 at 11:37AM
eklektos