Wife wants to use a digitizer, what is it?

rolacoyMarch 21, 2011

My wife has a Baby-loc Elegante embroidery machine and wants to digitize something. When we bought the machine about 3 years ago we also bought some software to run on her PC laptop. I know the software was pretty expensive, but I don't know what it was supposed to do. I don't think that she ever tried to use the software. I think that it was digitizing software and a paint program to make designs to digitize.

We both have Mac computers, she still has the PC, she kept it to use with the Elegante. I am a retired commercial artist and never was smart enough to use a PC computer, I made my living with a Mac. So I have all of the good drawing programs, including Photoshop to make any kind of design.

From what I understand about the embroidery machine it will take a, say jpeg file and digitize it, which means it makes a file that the embroidery machine can read. Am I somewhat correct?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
msmeow

I don't have a Baby Lock machine, but if the software you got was expensive, it's probably their proprietary digitizing software. Hopefully you got a manual or it has built-in tutorials that can help you get started.

My digitizing software is very old, but it does basically what you said - you can import a picture and it can digitize it into a file the embroidery machine can understand.

Check with Baby Lock - they may have a way you can run their software on Macs instead of PCs. They may also have on-line tutorials for the software.

Donna

Bookmark   March 25, 2011 at 10:39AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
LucyWaterCloset

Hi
Digitizing is drawing your own pattern. I used to scan cards ie snowmen etc. I got very good at it and then downloaded coloring book pages (be careful here some have viruses). Also ensure they are not "protected" and not to be copied.