Pedestal vs. Cabinet Vanity in Full Bathroom?

pbx2_gwDecember 3, 2012

What are people's feelings about using a pedestal sink vs. a cabinet style vanity in a full bathroom?

Would like your feedback as we have some secondary bathrooms (guests/kids) that we would like to save money on & put pedestals sinks in there vs. having cabinetry.

Storage isn't a concern as we have plenty of build-in shelving's & closets around these areas.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
terriks

I like to have plenty of counter space, so pedestals wouldn't work for me, except in a powder room.

Bookmark   December 3, 2012 at 7:23PM
igloochic

I'm a bit of an expert on this LOL I bought a bed and breakfast and it is now a house. We have 13 bathrooms and two have cabinets for the sinks...the rest have pedestals.

The pedestals look pretty but are pretty much useless even for guests. The best one we have is a large basin with a wonderfully large surround but it goes for about ten grand retail so it's no savings.

I have asked my guests what they prefer. If you have a pedestal you have to have shelving for even a casual user to put their things on. Bathroom things are not always pretty...things like soap, razors, a washcloth, etc. Deodorant, mouthwash and toothpaste....all will be prominently displayed if you have just a pedestal.

We are moving the beautiful pedestal to the powder room on the main floor because no one stays in there. The balance will be donated because they are a pain. We need to keep a victorian feel so we'll have some pedestal types, but they will have nice large marble surrounds and other cabinets in the room.

People don't like to have to put their tooth brush in a cabinet...it's just not enough efficient storage for someone to use. Yes they're cheap...but not worth a buck IMO!

Bookmark   December 3, 2012 at 8:01PM
Gina_W