I've got a Word doc that, through many versions, has always been able to keep the 'Track Changes' button activated, no matter that I turn it off, save it as a new doc, and then open it again - it's still there.
If you're able to keep the Track Changes display setting to show Final and not one with markups, wouldn't that solve your concern? With that display choice, the history of changes is invisible and you can't tell whether they're being tracked or not.
Or, is your concern that when you share the document with someone else, they can see the history? In that case, I think you can clear the history by Accepting all changes.