Pre-oiled solid hardwood with in floor heat?

jill430April 18, 2014

Hello, this is my first time posting in the building a home forum. Our new construction has hot water in floor heat and we are looking for suitable flooring. We have a small child, a 20lb dog and a 100lb dog. We realize whatever we choose will get scratched but we are hoping to find something that will hide the scratches well and can be repaired in the future. We have been advised to go with engineered hardwood rather than solid but we are concerned about how it will hold up with pets and small children. We found a couple of solid hardwood products (Ancestral Pre-Oiled Floors by BSL Wood Products and Intemporel Pre-Oiled Floors by Alexandra Parquets). The retailer told us pre-oiled solid flooring is ok for installation with in floor heat because the floor is not sealed and can "breath". I am wondering if anyone has any experience with this type of floor? Is it a bad idea to use it over in floor heat? Is an oiled hardwood more prone to scratches? We would go with a hard maple or perhaps oak. Thank you!

This post was edited by JillianL on Fri, Apr 18, 14 at 19:55

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
jill430

I should add that the wood flooring would be for the living room, dining room and upstairs. We plan on using tile for the kitchen, bathrooms and entry areas.

Bookmark   April 18, 2014 at 7:57PM
PRO
Sophie Wheeler

Recipe for disaster. Read the manufacturer's installation instructions instead of relying on a salesman. You need engineered, and something with a real finish. And keep your dogs nails clipped weekly.

Bookmark   April 19, 2014 at 10:11AM
jill430