How to get 'dog smell' out of chair

adwelshFebruary 6, 2005

Just bought a used microsuede recliner from people that had two big dogs. We've had the chair a week and a half and we are still noticing a pet smell. We took the chair outside for a day to get some sunshine and fresh air but the odor is still there. Any ideas?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lindac

Is it a urine smell? Or just dirty dog?
Fabrize may help....but I think I would want it to be professionally cleaned.
Linda C

Bookmark   February 7, 2005 at 12:32PM
adwelsh

Not urine - just kind of a "wet dog" smell.

I'll look into Fabrize - I've never used it before. But it's worth a try.

Bookmark   February 8, 2005 at 11:40PM
adwelsh

Okay, I used Fabrize on the chair last night. The whole room certainly smells better. I can't help but wonder if this is just a "masking" of the odor and how long before it wears off.

I need to get my carpets clean soon so maybe I'll see if the chair can be dry cleaned as well.

Bookmark   February 11, 2005 at 5:56PM
PeaBee4

Don't forget to turn the chair upside down. Wash all the hard parts and spray the rest. Since it's a recliner, there is a lot of fabric that is folded up in the underworks.

Bookmark   February 11, 2005 at 8:34PM
lindac

I don't know how Fabreeze works....but it doesn't seem to wear off....but you know as well as I that it doesn't remove the source of the odor....just the smell.
I would have it cleaned at the earliest opportunity....but meanwhile Fabreeze allows you to use it comfortably.
Linda C

Bookmark   February 12, 2005 at 7:17PM
michie1